Einfach und sicher Bitcoin kaufen: Mit dem Code "FINANZEN" sparen Sie 21% der Gebühren auf die ersten 6 Monate bei Coinfinity. Jetzt loslegen -w-
19.08.2020 15:00:00

Over 40 Agricultural & Economic Researchers Recognized at the 2020 AAEA Virtual Meeting

MILWAUKEE, Aug. 19, 2020 /PRNewswire-PRWeb/ -- Over 1,200 participants attended the first ever, 2020 AAEA Virtual Meeting, which took place on August 10-11 online. On Monday, August 10, AAEA awarded five Fellows, four new appreciation clubs and 25 awards at this year's Awards and Fellows Recognition Ceremony—which is now available to watch on YouTube.
2020 Fellows:

  •     Awudu Abdulai, University of Kiel
  •     Shenggen Fan, China Agricultural University
  •     David Just, Cornell University
  •     Will Masters, Tufts University
  •     Scott Swinton, Michigan State University

2020 Appreciation Clubs:

  •     David Baumann, Executive Director, Inc.
  •     Peter Berck, University of California, Berkeley
  •     Uma Lele, Institute of Economic Growth
  •     Gordon Rausser, University of California, Berkeley

2020 AAEA Annual Award Winners
Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis Award

  •     John Hoddinott, Cornell University

Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Awards
1.    Individual: Less than Ten Years' Experience
2.    Individual: Ten or More Years' Experience
3.    Group    1.    Becca Jablonski, Colorado State University
2.    Maria Marshall, Purdue University
3.    Matthew Stockton, Daran Rudnick, Chuck Burr, and Robert Tinger, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Distinguished Teaching Awards
1.    Less than Ten Years' Experience
2.    Undergraduate Teaching: Ten or More Years' Experience
3.    Graduate Teaching: Ten or More Years' Experience    1.    Amanda Countryman, Colorado State University
2.    Larry DeBoer, Purdue University
3.    Lilyan Fulginiti, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

  •     Alexandra Hill, University of California, Davis

"Determinants of Productivity, Quality, and Labor Supply: An Analysis of U.S. Agricultural Workers"

  •     Jonathan Proctor, University of California, Berkeley

"The Value of Light: Crop Response to Optical Scattering and Generalizable Earth Observation"

  •     Maulik Jagnani, Yale University

"Essays on Human Capital, Evironment, and Development"
Outstanding Master's Thesis Awards

  •     Andrew Swanson, Montana State University

"The Costs of Cooperation: The Effects of Section 199 on Basis for Farm Cooperatives in the Midwest"

  •     Ethan Sabala, Texas Tech University

"Essays in Trade Policy Analysis: Chinese Tariffs on US Agricultural Markets"

  •     Gabriella Sorg, University of Minnesota

"Dairy Confined Animal Feeding Permits on Public Notice as a Leading Indicator of Milk Supply"
Honorable Mentions:

  •     Emma Gjerdseth, University of California, Davis

"Do Deforestation Monitoring Programs Work? Evidence from the Environmental Property Registry and Satellite Data in Brazil"

  •     Susana Constenla Villoslada, Cornell University

"Development Resilience: A Comparison of Popular Measurement Methods"
Publication of Enduring Quality Award

  •     Wiktor Adamowicz, University of Alberta; Peter Boxall, University of Alberta; Michael Williams, Intelligent Marketing Systems; Jordan Louviere, University of South Australia

"Stated Preference Approaches for Measuring Passive Use Values: Choice Experiments and Contingent Valuation"
Quality of Communication Award

  •     Farzad Taheripour, Purdue University; Thomas Hertel, Purdue University; Navin Ramankutty, University of British Columbia

"Market-mediated responses confound policies to limit deforestation from oil palm expansion in Malaysia and Indonesia"
Quality of Research Discovery Award

  •     Edward Perry, Kansas State University; Federico Ciliberto, University of Virginia; GianCarlo Moschini, Iowa State University

"Valuing Product Innovation: Genetically Engineered Varieties in US Corn and Soybeans"
Honorable Mention:

  •     Nelson Villoria, Kansas State University

"Technology Spillovers and Land Use Change: Empirical Evidence from Global Agriculture"
Outstanding American Journal of Agricultural Economics Article Award    

  •     Jeffrey D. Michler, University of Arizona; Emilia Tjernström, University of Wisconsin; Simone Verkaart, Wageningen University; Kai Mausch

"Money Matters: The Role of Yields and Profits in Agricultural Technology Adoption"
American Journal of Agricultural Economics Outstanding Reviewers Award (NEW)    

  •     Sabrin Beg, University of Delaware
  •     Conner Mullally, University of Florida
  •     Eric Njuki, USDA-ERS
  •     Klaas van't Veld, University of Wyoming

Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy Article Award    

  •     Daniel Millimet, Southern Methodist University; Ian McDonough, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

"Criminal Incarceration, Statutory Bans on Food Assistance, and Food Security in Extremely Vulnerable Households: Findings from a Partnership with the North Texas Food Bank" 351-369
Outstanding Choices Article    

  •     James A. Sterns, Oregon State University

"Is the Emerging U.S. Hemp Industry Yet Another Boom–Bust Market for U.S. Farmers?"
Honorable Mentions:

  •     Yuri Clements Daglia Calil, Texas A&M University; Luis Ribera, Texas A&M University

"Brazil's Agricultural Production and Its Potential as Global Food Supplier"
Presidential Recognition Award for Special Service to the Association    

  •     Robbin Shoemaker, USDA-NIFA (Retired)

Extension Grad Student Competition    
1.    First Place: Katie Wilts, University of Minnesota. Mentor: Joleen Hadrich
2.    Second Place: Molly DelCurto, Montana State University. Mentor: Kate Fuller
3.    Third Place: Jose Enrique Velasco Ortiz, Purdue University. Mentor: Ariana Torres
Honorable Mention

  •     Elena Chin, University of Arizona. Mentor: Russell Tronstad.

*NEW* AAEA Mentoring Award

  •     Cesar Escalante, University of Georgia

2020 AAEA Trust Sponsored Award Winners
Anthony Grano Scholarship

  •     Katherine Wilts, University of Minnesota; Betty Thomas, Mississippi State University

Chester O. McCorkle Jr. Student Scholarship

  •     Ethan Sabala, Texas Tech University

Uma Lele Mentor Fellowship

  •     Varun Miglani, Deemed University

Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship

  •     Alexandra Hill, Colorado State University

AARES-AAEA Young Professional Exchange Program

  •     Leah Palm-Forster, University of Delaware

ABOUT AAEA: Established in 1910, the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) is the leading professional association for agricultural and applied economists, with 2,500 members in more than 60 countries. Members of the AAEA work in academic or government institutions as well as in industry and not-for-profit organizations, and engage in a variety of research, teaching, and outreach activities in the areas of agriculture, the environment, food, health, and international development. The AAEA publishes two journals, the American Journal of Agricultural Economics and Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy, as well as the online magazine Choices and the online open access publication series Applied Economics Teaching Resources. To learn more, visit http://www.aaea.org.


SOURCE Agricultural & Applied Economics Association

Eintrag hinzufügen
Hinweis: Sie möchten dieses Wertpapier günstig handeln? Sparen Sie sich unnötige Gebühren! Bei finanzen.net Brokerage handeln Sie Ihre Wertpapiere für nur 5 Euro Orderprovision* pro Trade? Hier informieren!
Es ist ein Fehler aufgetreten!